Ventura County DUI Attorney
Ventura County police are cracking down on drunk drivers. DUI enforcement is is being handled aggressively, sometimes to a fault.
According to California’s DUI laws, drivers can be arrested on suspicion of DUI without any conclusive evidence, such as a failed breathalyzer or field sobriety test. Instead, officers are allowed to exercise their own judgment when determining if a motorist is impaired or not. You can be arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence purely for subjective reasons.
With so many DUI dragnets and drunk driving checkpoints spread throughout Ventura County, many innocent drivers are being hastily arrested and charged by police.
If you find yourself arrested and charged with DUI, an experienced Ventura County DUI attorney can help you through the convoluted legal mess. Whether you were subjected to a sobriety test or not, it’s possible to fight the charges.
DUI Charges in California
DUI charges in California are no joke. They can have serious consequences on your life.
For a first time offender, it’s possible that you could spend as much as six months in jail. You could also be forced to pay a fine of up to $2,600 and have your license suspended for 10 months. Some counties even mandate that you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
With a second DUI, you can receive:
- As much as one year in jail,
- A fine as high as $2,800,
- Up to two years license suspension and
- An ignition interlock.
The consequences only get worse with a third offense. Penalties increase to a fine of $18,000 and a three-year license license suspension. Of course, the negatives of a drunk driving conviction extend further than the penalties themselves. Complications with getting to and from work as well as other transportation problems are sure to arise.
The penalties may seem harsh, but they can be even more severe if you happen to be charged with a DUI “enhancement.”
Ventura County DUI Attorney Robert M. Helfend
DUI enhancement charges in California are tied to the situation surrounding your arrest. A DUI enhancement may increase jail time, fines, and cause your license suspension to be lengthened.
DUI charges may be enhanced for the following:
- Injuring another individual while driving under the influence
- A previous felony DUI conviction within the last 10 years
- Excessive blood alcohol level (at .20 or above)
- Having a minor under 14 in the car
- Speeding over 20 mph on the street or over 30 mph on the freeway
- DUI in highway construction zone
Being charged with a DUI in Ventura County is a serious situation. The eagerness of the police department to charge motorists with DUI combined with laws that allow subjectivity lead to citizens receiving harsh penalties that impact their lives in a very negative way.
Not only can a DUI conviction hurt you financially, it can also derail what was once a normal, happy life. You could even lose years of your life in a jail cell.
With the stakes so high, it’s important to work with a Ventura County DUI attorney to prepare a strong defense.
I’m attorney Robert M. Helfend. I have aggressively defended the accused throughout Ventura County and Simi Valley for 32 years. Having three decades worth of experience handling DUI cases means that I have the track record necessary to handle your case and ensure that you get the best possible outcome.
If you have been charged with DUI, don’t waste time. Contact me today so that we can review your case.