Navigating the complexities of California’s sex offender registration law can be difficult, especially when it comes to your residence.
Depending on the nature of the sex offender’s crime and their criminal history, the court has the discretion to specify where and how they may live. Managing these requirements and juggling them with the demands of life can be stressful, especially considering the consequences for failing to abide by your sentence.
In an effort to add some clarity, we collected some of the most common questions and answers about residency restrictions for registered sex offenders in Ventura under California’s Megan’s Law.
If you need help with a specific situation, the best course of action is to reach out to an experienced Ventura criminal defense attorney. Robert M. Helfend is a Superlawyers and Lead Counsel-rated sex crimes specialist, serving Ventura since 1984. Call today for a free consultation – 805-273-5611.
- What are the registration and reporting requirements for registered sex offenders in Ventura County?
- Do registered sex offenders in Ventura County have to notify their neighbors?
- Are registered sex offenders in Ventura County allowed to live near schools and parks?
- Can multiple sex offenders live in the same home in Ventura County?
- Can a registered sex offender move to Ventura County?
- What are the penalties for failure to register in Ventura County?
What are the registration and reporting requirements for registered sex offenders in Ventura County?
Registered sex offenders must also report any changes in their residence, employment, and/or school status to the Ventura PD.
Transients are required to register at least every 30 days. Sex offenders who are homeless will be assigned a “transient” address in the county of Ventura and must check in with the local law enforcement agency regularly to update their items.
High risk sex offenders must also register 90 days with the Ventura PD.
Do registered sex offenders in Ventura County have to notify their neighbors?
In Ventura County, sex offenders are not required to notify their neighbors or community members if they move into a new residence. However, residents can find out if sex offenders are in their neighborhood by checking the California Megan’s Law Website.
Note that convicted sex offenders are not allowed to access the website.
Are registered sex offenders in Ventura County allowed to live near schools and parks?
Courts in Ventura County handle the question of proximity to schools and parks on a case-by-case basis.
Generally speaking, if a Ventura sex offender is found to be higher risk, they will be prohibited from living within 2,000 feet of any school, park or daycare center. Otherwise, sex offenders in Ventura county are allowed to live near schools and parks.
Can multiple sex offenders live in the same home in Ventura County?
No. Under California law, sex offenders cannot reside in the same home. As such, sex offenders will have to find separate residences if they are living together under one roof.
The exception to the rule is that a sex offender may live with other offenders if they are related by blood, marriage or adoption.
Can a registered sex offender move to Ventura County?
Yes, sex offenders are allowed to move to Ventura County so long as they comply with the sex offender registry rules and reporting requirements. According to California law, offenders must register with the local law enforcement agency in their new county of residence within 5 days of relocating.
Failure to comply with sex offender registration requirements can result in severe penalties, including possible incarceration.
What are the penalties for failure to register in Ventura County?
Failure to register as a sex offender is prosecuted on the same level as your original offense. This means that if you were originally convicted of a misdemeanor, failure to register will be treated as a misdemeanor, and same as a felony. Depending on the circumstances, offenders may face up to three years in jail and/or fines up to $10,000.