A DUI checkpoint in Ventura produced no arrests last month. Police operated the checkpoint from 8:00 PM Friday, June 28 to 3:00 AM Saturday, June 29. During its operation, Ventura police stopped 321 drivers, conducted 12 field sobriety tests and issued 1 citation.
At sobriety checkpoints, police are more likely to find unlicensed motorists and unregistered or uninsured vehicles than impaired drivers. Unimpaired drivers whose vehicles are impounded at checkpoints can expect to spend up to $4,000 to get their vehicles back. This includes impound fees and fines, and towing and storage costs.
Municipalities will argue that the number of vehicles they check – and not the number of arrests – gives value to DUI checkpoints. When drivers know that checkpoints are in operation, they are less likely to drive impaired. Active patrols give police a better chance to spot and stop impaired drivers, however.
California regularly uses sobriety checkpoints, despite limited evidence of their effectiveness.
Ventura DUI Lawyer
When you’re stopped for a DUI in Ventura, hire an experienced DUI lawyer like Robert Helfend. Mr. Helfend has more than 30 years of experience in drunk driving defense. He takes cases in Ventura County and throughout Southern California.
Most (about two-thirds) of drunk driving arrests in California result in a misdemeanor charge. Whether and how the prosecutor charges you depend entirely on the circumstances of your case. Certain circumstances – including a prior history of impaired driving, or collisions involving injuries or death – can result in felony charges against you. Even with a misdemeanor charge, you can expect a suspension of your driver’s license. This is an automatic process administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles, and it occurs at the time of the traffic stop.
The DMV does have a time-dependent process to contest a license suspension. The DMV’s process also differs completely from any judicial process. The Court can impose an additional suspension as part of your sentence. In addition, you could face jail time, fines, driving restrictions and other sanctions. The court may also require you to install an ignition interlock on your car.
Your best defense is to hire an experienced attorney to represent you in court. Do not attempt to represent yourself and don’t settle for an inexperienced attorney.
Contact Robert Helfend or call toll-free at (800) 834-6434, (805) 273-5611, (310) 456-3317 or (818) 591-2809 for an immediate consultation on your Ventura County DUI case.
Photo Credit: Nick Fisher, via Flickr.com